Avoiding driving while drunk has never been easier. You can get an Uber or Lyft to pick you up and take you home, even if you can’t find a taxi. Many friends are happy to drive you home rather than let you get behind the wheel. For some people, even one drink is too much, and they shouldn’t drive.
No matter how well you think you handle alcohol, please don’t ever drink and drive. The consequences aren’t worth it.
Driving Under the Influence
In North Carolina, it’s illegal to drive a vehicle if your blood alcohol level is at 0.08 or even if you’re noticeably impaired. Everyone’s a little different, and some people become drunk on less than the legal limit. You’re never truly sober as you feel once you’ve had a drink or two, and even a small amount can impair your ability to drive.
Your reflexes may slow down. Your judgement will certainly be impaired. You may even lose some of your inhibitions and give into reckless behavior. Any of these can contribute to an accident that could be fatal. If you go out on a busy weekend and get stopped at a DUI checkpoint, you’ll pay the price even if no one gets hurt.
In North Carolina, the consequences vary based on your history and the severity of the crime. You may receive as little as a $200 file and 24 hours in jail. But you could also pay a $4000 fine and spend at least a month in jail. And if you hurt someone in an accident or you’re a repeat offender, the consequences only get worse.
DUI and Your Auto Insurance
After driving under the influence, you can have your license revoked and potentially have your vehicle seized. Eventually you’ll get your license back and be able to drive again. What will drinking and driving do to your auto insurance? Nothing good.
Insurance premiums are based on your perceived risk. The higher the risk, the higher your premiums. Once you’ve been convicted of drinking and driving, you’ll be considered high risk for quite some time, causing your insurance premiums to skyrocket. Some insurers may not want to insure you at all.
The court may require a SR-22 before you can drive again. This is a form that shows you have purchased at least the state-mandated minimum amount of auto insurance. Your insurer will file this form for you. Once it’s been received, you’ll be able to drive again.
Not only is drinking and driving dangerous, reckless, and potentially life-threatening, it also hurts you financially for years. If you enjoy a few drinks, don’t drive. If you’re going to drive, don’t drink. You’ll save lives and help yourself in the process.
If you do have a DUI conviction and need auto insurance, contact Charlotte Insurance. As an independent insurance agency, we work with multiple carriers and can offer more insurance options. Contact us today for a free quote.